Florida Texting and Driving Ban Officially in Effect
Florida’s new ban on texting and driving went into effect earlier this week. The law is called a secondary offense, which means that texting can’t be the sole reason to be stopped. In order to be ticketed under this new law, a driver must be pulled over for speeding or another traffic violation first; a texting violation may then be issued in addition to the original offense.
The first violation will cost offenders $30 plus court costs. Subsequent penalties for breaking the law will rise to $60. If the texting causes a crash, the punishment is stiffer.
Texting drivers who are to blame for a crash resulting in injuries are subject to a civil lawsuit as well as punitive damages for the injured party.
Texting is the number one distraction causing accidents– more than phone calls and drunk driving. Due to these staggering statistics, several groups have made it their mission to educate the public about the dangers of distracted driving.
The Dori Slosberg Foundation, a local organization whose focus is dedicated to traffic safety, saw the instating of this new law as an opportunity to discuss the importance of safe driving with Palm Beach County students. In a road safety assembly and press conference held earlier this week, West Boca Raton High School students heard from various speakers, including attorney Brian LaBovick, and experienced a texting-while-driving simulator. The hope is that educating individuals, beginning with young people, will change behaviors that contribute to senseless tragedies.
Remember: Do not text and drive. It’s against the law and will likely cause a crash.
If you are the victim of an accident caused by a texting driver, contact a trusted attorney who can assist you with your case.